It’s preserves season

And so far this year all kinds of jams and chutneys have flowed freely from my kitchen. My berry crop at home has only yielded of some sad looking raspberries so it was off to Wandin last weekend for some picking – so much fun and the berries were ridiculously juicy and sweet. Even better was the berries put aside for jamming – $2 a kilo anyone? So I’ve been busy. It’s a little hobby I have (and I certainly need more of those). People don’t tend to leave our house without at least one jar being pressed upon them.

My signature range of quince paste (perfect on hard cheese and a savoy) has been dealt a blow, however.

Shocked and very upset when my fruit dealer, S from old work, confessed under much duress that his wonderful quince tree has been rendered unproductive by some ill advised pruning. My quince source has gone! If anyone knows of any, even black market, please get in touch.

Leave a Reply

